Home > Bitch Bitch Bitch, Documenting the Process > First Look at Next Spring

First Look at Next Spring

November 18, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

spring2011

And by “spring” I actually mean winter, but the University will persist in calling it the spring semester.

Once again I have been unable to secure even one day off, because that math class is only offered MWF and MET 121 is only offered TTh.  And look at that Wednesday!  A, why is that class at 5 in the afternoon, and B, what am I supposed to do with myself for five and a half hours?  (And C, yes, you’re reading that right, IT IS A BLOODY DAMNED PROGRAMMING CLASS, it turns out there’s at least one in the curriculum of EVERY MAJOR I CONSIDERED during last week’s Vocational Emergency.)

Well, OK, I know exactly what I’ll probably doing for most of that time.  Getting lunch and then being planetarium computer monkey.  But man, it’s going to be a struggle getting motivated to show up for math on Fridays.  I’ll be spending more than twice as long in the car as I am in class!

On the plus side, they all look interesting.  On the minus side, there’s a train wreck coming next school year, because switching majors mid-year means I’m out of phase with the introductory Technical Physics courses, which are prereqs for a number of things I should be taking in year 2.  That means I’ll be taking them instead, and the things they’re prereqs for in year 3, and so on.  But, like I told the lady in the School of Engineering Tech office, I’ve effectively been delaying graduation for the last 18 years, so another one’s probably not going to kill me as long as my financial aid doesn’t get cut off.

Which it might do, actually, now that the Heartless Party (as opposed to the Feckless Party) is back in command of Congress and a man who has said that the University of Maine System will have to “justify its existence” is going to be governor.  But one crisis at a time.

Tonight’s crisis: I have an exam in CMJ 103 tomorrow that I can’t seem to settle my head down and study for, because of… well, I don’t even want to explain what because of, it’ll just get me riled up again.  It has to do with my mother, her husband, and cars.  Let’s leave it at that.  For now, I’m thinking about going to bed and trying again in the morning, before driving down and not picking up the MINI from the shop for the… what… 16th day since repairs were completed.

Sigh.

  1. November 19, 2010 at 02:34

    If you’re lucky, the Intro to Programming class will use Java, which is relatively easy and at least makes a certain amount of sense. And you don’t have to use a crappy Microsoft IDE. Even if they foist one on you, you can just compile it in the command-line while you’re actually working on it and only use the IDE when they make you. (That’s what I did when I had a Java CIS course, with crappy IDE, after already having taken a Java CompSci course, with command-line.)

    If you’re unlucky, you’ll get VisualBasic. Bleaaaah.

    • Ben
      November 19, 2010 at 09:31

      And guess what?

  2. November 20, 2010 at 03:58

    I’m so, so sorry.

    • Mechaman
      November 20, 2010 at 18:50

      Actuallly, if it’s using Visual Studio, the IDE’s a LOT better than it was. I’ve been using it to work on some XNA noodling and I think the IDE is the same even if I’m coding in C#

  3. November 24, 2010 at 20:47

    As a note, even in my day job as a graphic designer, I occasionally also have to program, albeit in a variant of Javascript. The need to program is starting to get into pretty much everything that doesn’t involve shoveling french fries into cardboard cups.

    • Ben
      November 25, 2010 at 19:49

      To paraphrase Patton, “Lord, how I hate the 21st century.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

