Home > Mysteries of the University > There are two interesting things about this.

There are two interesting things about this.

Here’s something from the online student service thingy.

holdrefund

There are two interesting things about this.  One is what it says under Start Term – quite ambitious for a campus information system, I should think.

The other is that they didn’t do it.

For those of you who remember the excitement at the beginning of last semester, I was informed somewhat after the fact that, since I was taking Physics I at Eastern Maine Community College and thus considered an Away Student, the Bursar’s Office was holding my refund and wouldn’t release it until they’d received proof of enrollment from EMCC – proof that would not be forthcoming, EMCC’s people told me, until the second week of the semester, after their Add/Drop period expired.  This led to a bit of a desperate scramble for the first couple weeks of the semester.

Well, this semester, I’m taking Physics II at EMCC, and was warned ahead of time (for once) to expect the same dance again.  There was some fairly grim hatch-battening going on this last week as a result, I assure you.

So imagine my surprise when the aforementioned spring semester refund arrived in the mail this morning.

Actually, this was doubly surprising, because A) they insisted last month that it wasn’t ever going to happen and I should prepare to eat ramen and steal other people’s gasoline for the first week or two and B) my driveway is icy, which usually causes the postman to wave off and not bother delivering my mail.

I’d call them Monday and ask what the deal is, if I wasn’t 80% sure that would cause a Bureaucratic Correction involving the money somehow being rescinded until later in the month, and, well, no.  Not gonna do it; wouldn’t be prudent.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

